Boots haul – LOreal Feria, Maybelline brow pencil, Nivea In-shower moisturiser

My mum, being the generous soul that she is, recently gave me her Boots Advantage card so I could use all the points she’d accumulated. So I had the luxury of picking out all my wants from Boots and getting them all for free! Yay!

My first pick was hair dye, because my hair currently looks like the pic below. It’s six weeks since I last dyed it (with LOreal Sublime Mousse in Hot Brown – love this dye, always pick foam formulations if I can) and it’s just looking a bit meh. A colour boost is just what it needs, and I think I’m gonna stick with red tones for the moment. I had a few thoughts about going pink or purple, but red seems to let me indulge my crazy side without looking too unprofessional at uni.

Image

Feria is LOreal’s new permanent colour range, with shades from Extreme Platinum Power through to Blackest Black. There’s very few ‘standard’ colours in this range; these are all head-turning colours – oranges, reds, purples, and even some intriguing pastel shades such as peach. For the less adventurous, there’s a handful of browns and blondes. The difference from LOreal’s other permanent ranges? Feria is a gel dye, designed to give rich colour and shine to your hair.

Image

I was deliberating between Scarlet Red and Hot Chilli Red for ages, and what swung it in the end was that the model on the HCR pack just looked way too eighties. Who says I pick things based on irrelevant factors? Either way, I’m looking forward to going Scarlet.

My next choice was a brow pencil and I picked Maybelline’s new MasterShape brow pencil. What I love about this is that it’s a double ended product – on one end is the pencil and on the other is a little brush to tidy up those brows before you start adding some shading. It’s only available in Dark Blonde or Soft Brown, so I went for the latter but I’m not sure if it’s a little too light – despite being naturally mousy in hair colour, my brows are pretty dark.

Image

Image

There’s a little diagram on the side of the pencil to show how to draw a neatly shaped brow, but these are your brows, so play around and see what suits. I really didn’t think a touch of background shading would make a great deal of difference to my brows – think long, sparse, dark hair – but it really does help to define my brow line and shape my face. I’d feel far more confident with bold eye make up now I’ve got some decent brows to go with it.

Last but not least I repurchased Nivea’s innovative In-shower body moisturiser. I’m really bad at remembering to moisturise and I can never be bothered waiting for it all to soak in before I get dressed, so this is a god-send of a product. It’s like conditioner for your skin – wash, rinse, apply this, rinse again and you’re done. I was fairly sceptical as to whether NIvea had just repackaged a standard moisturiser, so I tried it on dry skin – don’t do it! This really is completely re-formulated for shower use. On dry skin it refused to rub in and when I added water it turned into a waxy layer that I pretty much had to scrape off. Inner Unicorn – doing things wrong so you don’t have to!

Image

I know this doesn’t quite stand up to the hydrating powers of ‘normal’ moisturiser, but it’s fantastic if you’re in a bit lazy, in a rush to get dressed, or just want an excuse to spend a few seconds more under a warm shower. I got the Almond Oil one for dry skin and my skin does feel softer since I’ve started using this every day.

All in all, about a tenner’s worth of stuff for nothing! And I still have my own Boots points to spend later!

Have you tried any of these products? What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Boots haul – LOreal Feria, Maybelline brow pencil, Nivea In-shower moisturiser

Leave a Reply

